The True Meaning Behind Tarot Cards

Share with Friends

Maybe the tale that tarot cards have been telling us for centuries is the universal history of human development. The reason of the tarots’ enduring popularity is the fact that we read in them our own story and the tale is narrated with symbols that are already in our collective unconscious.

The symbols of the Major Arcana cards talk to us with very powerful images that spring from the depths of our unconscious mind. Probably this is the reason why we find these pictures so fascinating and evocative.

The characters, situations and the meaning of each tarot card seem to tell us a story that can be read as the tale of the Fool’s journey.

The Fool is us and his voyage represents also the course of human development or our individual growth.

Let’s read the story the tarots are telling us and examine in detail the meaning of each tarot card.

0 The Fool

This card represents a young men at the beginning of his travel through life. He is innocent and confident, the world is full of promises. He is totally unaware of the dangers and he faces life armed only with his courage and naive ignorance.

1 The Magician

The fool has learned to exercise his abilities and expertly uses his devices to manipulate the world to his advantage.

2 The High Priestess

The high Priestess represents what is missing in the magician’s material world, the spiritual side of things that is veiled to the still ignorant fool.

3 The Empress

The fool is now ready to acknowledge his archetypal parents. The Empress is the mother earth, she is nurturing and the source of all the riches and unconditional love.

4 The Emperor

The Emperor is the counterpart of the Mother, the Father. This card represents authority, power, order and reason but also protection and love for those who follow the Father’s rules.

5 The Hierophant or Pope

The Pope is the guardian of wisdom and religious teaching. With him the fool learns about moral values and traditions.

6 The Lovers

The voyager is now able to relate to another individual. He will learn about duality in a romantic relation or in friendship. He discovers attraction, sex, temptations and choices.

7 The Chariot

With duality comes conflict. Our hero learns to manage and control opposite forces that move in different directions.

8 Strength

Our hero has now a chance to learn about his capabilities and becomes confident in his own strength and powers.

9 The Hermit

Meditating and reflecting in solitude helps the voyager to get to know himself and control his energy.

10 The Wheel of Fortune

Not everything is under our control and the fool here comes to terms with the ups and downs of life.

11 The Justice

Although life is often unpredictable, a form of justice is detectable in the events of life. All our actions have consequences, this is the lesson for the fool at this stage.

12 The Hanged Man

The symbol of this card is a man suspended upside down. This picture represents a moment of suspension and the need to let go and see things from a different perspective.

13 Death

This card reflects a transition, an important moment of transformation and the need to abandon our old self in order to learn something new.

14 Temperance

The fool has met death, the ultimate change. He has learned now to see the world from a new perspective with equanimity and moderation.

15 The Devil

The Devil is an impediment that stops the voyager’s journey. The fool must face and conquer his personal demons that limit his development

16 The Tower

A lightning strikes without warning the safe refuge the Fool built for himself. The destruction leaves the fool homeless but also free from his ties. Our voyager learns about abrupt life changes and freedom from the unnecessary.

17 The Star

The Fool is now free and ready for new hope, the stars show him a new path to enlightenment.

18 The Moon

The light of the moon is misleading, it shows things under a deceptive light. The Fool must learn to move among illusion and hidden influences.

19 The Sun

Finally after a long night, the Fool sees the light of the day. Warm, vital forces reinvigorate the voyager and he feels he is finally close to his achievement.

20 The Judgment

The trumpets of the Judgment announce resurrection and rebirth for the Fool at the end of his journey.

21 The World

This card symbolizes the achievement, the reaching of the Fool’s goal and the end of a difficult but propitious travel.

Tarot cards offer us a chance to look inside ourselves and they can be an invaluable device for meditation, situation analysis and self-understanding.

With you can learn to read tarot cards easily and start an amazing voyage of self-discovery.

Article Source:

Article Source:


Get a Live Reading on Love or Career Right Now | 15 mins. for $10 or $1/mins. -->Call (888) 577-0167 Click Here