When researching spiritual growth and development, you may come across something known as a chakra. Cultures throughout the world recognize chakras, using them for spiritual and religious purposes. But what exactly is a chakra? This is one of the many questions that we’re going to answer today.

Chakras: the Basics

A chakra is believed to be a metaphysical energy point within the body.  According to Indian religion, they serve as meeting points of energy channels known as nadi. Our bodies have an active life force flowing through them at all times. The pathways through which this life/energy force flows is nadi, whereas the connecting points are chakras.

Chakras are often used in conjunction with massage therapy, acupuncture, acupressure, and other forms of traditional medicine to treat and/or prevent illness. If you are feeling sad, depressed or experiencing emotional anxiety, for instance, targeting the solar plexus chakra may offer relief. Typically recognized as being directly above the stomach, the solar plexus chakra has been proven effective in treating emotional disorders.

Where Chakras are Located

If you asked ten different practitioners where the chakras are located, you would probably get ten different answers. That’s because every school has its own belief system regarding the use of chakras. Subsequently, this often leads to confusion regarding which areas to target for the best resolutions. If you are suffering from fatigue, for instance, one school may recommend targeting one chakra, whereas another school recommends targeting a different chakra.

In fact, there is no standard system of the chakras. Every school, sometimes every teacher within each school, has had his own chakra system.”
~ Professor David Gorden White

7 Most Common Chakras

Although there’s no universal system in place for identifying and utilizing chakras, the seven most common and widespread chakras consist of the following:

  • Root chakra
  • Sacral chakra
  • Solar Plexus chakra
  • Heart chakra
  • Throat chakra
  • Third-eye chakra
  • Crown chakra

Why Chakras are Important

Chakras are important because they represent our body’s life/energy force. When this invisible force becomes trapped, the point of conflict must be stimulated to restore it back to its working order. Failure to correct blockages of life force can leave us susceptible to disease and illness, ranging from the common cold virus to more serious and potentially life-threatening illnesses. Chakras represent the points on the body where these blockages occur. Therefore, by identifying these areas you can correct blockages of life force to promote better health and wellness.


  1. There are a lot of books for balancing chakras available on Amazon.
  2. Check out this video to assist you in balancing your chakras.
  3. Download this Free Chakra Healing with the Angels Meditation.

Photo Credit: Charlie Vigorous

Still Need Assistance? Take the Next Step…

Get a LIVE READING Right Now -> Free Minutes!

(Remember, you get Free Minutes on your first reading.)